Ryan Adams Forms New Punk Band Pornography, EP Released On Record Store Day

Ryan Adams

Ryan Adams

In March Ryan Adams announced his first show backed by a full band since The Cardinals split up in 2009. Taking place March 19th at London’s Royal Albert Hall, the gig was part of the Noel Gallagher-curated Teenage Cancer Trust benefit concert series. Adams and company, Don Was(bass) and Benmont Tench(keys) played two new songs, including an uptempo rocker called “In the Shadows”.

The Royal Albert Hall ticketing site describes Adams’ “very special performance” thus: “The show will feature the debut of new songs from his as-yet-untitled new album due for release in the autumn alongside classics from his extensive catalogue.” Yes, that does indeed say “new songs” and “new album”. The record reportedly sees Adams reuniting with 2011′s Ashes & Fire producer Glyn Johns, and the band accompanying him on March 19th was expected to be the same as in the studio.

But the Heartbreaker has a much adventurous project in the works. According to a press release,  Adams has formed a punk three-piece with singer Leah Hennessey and Rock N Roll-era collaborator Johnny T. Yerington.  They have released a seven-song (!) debut 7″ on Record Store Day (April 20th).

As a press release explains:

Adams and Yerington, whose C.V. includes drumming and co-writing credits on the former’s 2003 album Rock N Roll, had a chance encounter with Hennessey at her (sort of) workplace that quickly led to her unknowingly auditioning for their band The Finger. By the close of a 2-hour session that went incredibly well, it was decided this would be a new band entirely–one she then named Pornography–the three of them were well on their way to writing and recording “7 Minutes In Heaven” and another EP and album’s worth of material.

“I told Ryan I wanted to make sad bastard music and the next day he asked me to come sing in his and Johnny’s punk band, which is when we wrote and recorded the entirety of ’7 Minutes in Heaven,’” Hennessey, who is fronting the band, said in a statement. “We never give ourselves more than a few minutes to write the songs so we can’t really afford to censor ourselves or be less stupid.”

For a quick fling with the upcoming “7 Minutes in Heaven” 7-inch — which was produced by Gus Oberg, who will reportedly play bass for Pornography’s live shows — stream the vinyl’s opening track,  “Last Nite at the Opera.”  It’s 53 seconds of bubblegum-smacking, leather jacket-wrapped pop-punk and it can be heard below, along with the full track list.

“7 Minutes in Heaven” track list:

1. “Last Nite at the Opera”
2. “Bald Spot”
3. “Police Scanner”
4. “Violent Conversion”
5. “Fake Snake, Real Pony”
6. “Cats & Dogs”
7. “Punch Him”

The connection to soundcloud is not working.  Click HERE to connect.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s