New Gojira Album Is ‘Deeper, More Personal,’ Joe Duplantier Explains

Joe Duplantier of Gojira

Joe Duplantier of Gojira

Gojira Interview: Soundwave TV 2014

Gojira frontman Joe Duplantier gave an update on the upcoming new album, confirming plans to go more personal with the fresh material.

Discussing the follow-up to 2012’s “L’Enfant Sauvage,” Duplantier told Metal Hammer Magazine Show, “Something I started with ‘L’Enfant Sauvage’ was that I talked more precisely about my demons.

“Before, I was just talking about fear in general, when you get stuck in a situation inside. Now, I go deeper. It’s becoming more personal. I’m not scared to talk about my fear, my jealousy and my weaknesses in a more precise way,” the frontman concluded.

The record is tentatively due in 2014 and will hopefully mark the group’s strongest work to date. “We feel very optimistic [about] the future, and we’re already enjoying a lot the new stuff,” Joe said during a separate AMH TV chat. “We want to make the strongest album we can do. I mean, all the bands always say they try to make the strongest album, but this time, I think we will really do it.”

During the rest of the interview, Duplantier discussed leaving France and the experience of becoming a dad. Check out the full chat below.

Leave a Reply

