Noel Gallagher To Return With New Album Chasing Yesterday In March

Former Oasis man confirms Johnny Marr and lost of sax solos set for second High Flying Birds LP as he post first single online.

Former Oasis man confirms Johnny Marr and lost of sax solos set for second High Flying Birds LP as he post first single online.

 

FOR A MAN WHO ONCE DECLARED he doesn’t own a computer and won’t use email, Noel Gallagher was very busy online this afternoon (October 13) announcing his return to music.

The erstwhile Oasis leader and his High Flying Birds revealed plans for his second solo album, Chasing Yesterday during a Q&A session hosted on Facebook, before posting its first fruits onto Youtube. The record will be with us on March 2, but first single In The Heart Of The Moment – below – is out next month (November 17) complete with B-side Do The Damage.

Chasing Yesterday is the first full album Gallagher has produced himself, but full creative control had its drawbacks it seems. “It was a major pain in the arse,” he explained. “It’s not that I’ve ever had people telling me what to write or what direction to go in, but managing sessions from one end of the week to the other proved extremely difficult. I had all these people looking at me and saying, ‘Right, what are we doing today?’ I was making the whole thing up as I went along.”

 

“I know I’m going to be accused of sax crimes. But fuck it. There’s nobody to tell me not to do it.”

Noel Gallagher

 

One recipient of this approach was Johnny Marr, who guests on Ballad Of The Mighty I, and apparently joined in the chaotic spirit of things by improvising his guitar parts. “I tried to get him to play on the last album but it never happened,” noted Gallagher. “So when I put this track together and knew he would be perfect for it I called him and asked if I could send him the rough mix. He said: ‘No, I don’t want to hear it. I’m just going to react to it on the day.’ He didn’t even want any pointers. Well, that was brave of him. He just arrived with two guitars and a bag of effects pedals. And I have to say, he’s unbelievable. He’s way up there, on another level to the rest of us. The result is a burst of energy that helped make Mighty I one of the best songs I’ve ever written.”

However, that’s not the only new element this freeform approach has yielded, as seasoned Oasis-watchers will be surprised to learn that Chasing Yesterday boasts several saxophone solos. “I know I’m going to be accused of sax crimes,” admitted Gallagher. “But fuck it. There’s nobody to tell me not to do it. And when you listen to that saxophone, please, don’t think about the guy from Spandau Ballet.”

An arena tour will take place March next year, with tickets going on sale this Friday at 9am (BST). See Aloud.com for full details. There’s no word yet on whether a touring saxophonist has been booked.

 

 

Leave a Reply

