The Walkmen frontman Hamilton Leithauser announces debut solo LP

Hamilton Leithauser - Photo Jane Five

Hamilton Leithauser

Frontman of The Walkmen Hamilton Leithauser has announced plans for his debut solo LP.

‘Black Hours’ is set for release on May 5 and will feature guest appearances from Rostam Batmanglij of Vampire Weekend, Morgan Henderson of Fleet Foxes and Amber Coffman from Dirty Projectors. “We’d toured with Fleet Foxes and really hit it off with all of them. Morgan is the most natural and accomplished musician I’ve ever seen. Calling him was like shooting for the stars, but he agreed, and we just knew it would work out with this line up,” says Leithauser of the Fleet Foxes man’s appearance on the LP. Scroll down to watch the video for first single, ‘Alexandra’.

The album, he says, was inspired by the work and sound of Frank Sinatra. “I’d been listening to ‘The September of My Years’ and ‘In the Wee Small Hours’ by Sinatra, and I realised this chord progression was actually quite dramatic. It seemed like it could maintain its odd structure, but get enormous with singing and instrumental dynamics. I have a very loud and booming voice and it was fun to put it unapologetically in front of everything. I just went for it.”

The Walkmen are currently on “extreme hiatus”. The band formed in 2000 and have released seven studio albums, including 2012’s ‘Heaven’. Emerging alongside The Strokes, Interpol and Yeah Yeahs as a raft of bands broke out of New York at the turn of the century, The Walkmen are perhaps best known for their song ‘The Rat’, which appeared on 2004 album ‘Bows + Arrows’.

The ‘Black Hours’ tracklisting is:

‘The Silent Orchestra’
’11 O’ Clock Friday Night’
‘St. Mary’s County’
‘Black Hours’
‘I Retired’
‘I Don’t Need Anyone’
‘Bless Your Heart’
‘The Smallest Splinter’