Interpol Visits KCRW – Took the stage at the iconic Mack Sennett Studios in L.A.


In front of a small crowd of adoring fans, members of the press and industry veterans, Interpol took the stage at the iconic Mack Sennett Studios in the Silver Lake neighborhood of Los Angeles to perform all new songs from the forthcoming album El Pintor plus a few fan favorite hits. The evening was part of NPR’s First Listen Live where fans across the country could stream a live webcast of the event.

Banner Image Credit: Ethan Shvartzman

Interpol once seemed like a candidate for a quick post-debut flameout. Its 2002 debut, Turn on the Bright Lights, broke through with seemingly instantaneous intensity, setting the band up for an equally ferocious second-album letdown. So many bands in its fickle New York scene were playing a variation on Interpol’s sleek, stylish, darkly driving post-punk that success was bound to be difficult to sustain.

And yet here’s the band, back a dozen years later, on the eve of a heavily anticipated fifth album. El Pintor follows a tumultuous four-year gap, during which Interpol toured with U2, went on hiatus, and saw bassist Carlos Dengler leave for good while singer Paul Banks released two solo records (one under the pseudonym Julian Plenti). Thankfully, the resulting album wears turmoil well: Interpol has aged into its polished sound nicely, maintaining its influences — Joy Division, Echo and the Bunnymen, et al — while sounding more distinct from them than ever.

Interpol often tiptoes on the fine line separating consistency from sameness. El Pintor treads that same line, but keeps finding Interpol on its better side. Twelve years after its debut, it’s a band that knows what it wants to be — and, just as importantly, knows how to get there every time.

KCRW Presents: Interpol

August 26, 2014 • The New York City band played songs from its upcoming album, El Pintor (out Sept. 9), on August 26 at Mack Sennett Studios in Los Angeles.

Set List
  • “Say Hello to Angels”
  • “Evil”
  • “C’mere”
  • “Hands Away”
  • “Breaker 1”
  • “Length Of Love”
  • “My Desire”
  • “Not Even Jail”
  • “Anywhere”
  • “Same Town, New Story”
  • “Take You On A Cruise”
  • “All The Rage Back Home”

Interpol stream new album ‘El Pintor’ ahead of official release!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Interpol is an American rock band from New York City. Formed in 1997, the band’s original line-up consisted of Paul Banks (vocals, guitar), Daniel Kessler (guitar, vocals), Carlos Dengler (bass guitar, keyboards) and Greg Drudy (drums, percussion). Drudy left the band in 2000 and was replaced by Sam Fogarino. In 2010, shortly after recording finished for the band’s fourth album, Dengler left to pursue personal projects.

Having first performed at Luna Lounge along with other notable bands like The Strokes, Longwave, The National and Stellastarr, they are one of the bands associated with the New York City indie music scene, and was one of several groups that emerged from the post-punk revival of the 2000s. The band’s sound is generally a mix of staccato bass and rhythmic, harmonized guitar, with a snare heavy mix, drawing comparisons to post-punk bands such as Joy Division and The Chameleons. Aside from the lyrics, their songwriting method includes all of the band members, rather than relying on any given chief songwriter.

The band are set to release their long-awaited new album El Pintor on 8 September and today we’re getting our first proper taste from it in the form of ‘All the Rage Back Home’. It’s got Paul Banks’ signature deep croon ala Turn on the Bright Lights in the way the song is both moody and upbeat. The song was premiered earlier on Zane Lowe’s Radio 1 show, and you can check out the music video for it below:


The album is officially released on September 8, but fans can listen to a stream of the album via NPR. The record features new songs ‘Anywhere’ and ‘All The Rage Back Home’, which are on the band’s fifth studio album, following 2010’s ‘Interpol’.

Interpol will embark on a short tour of the UK and Ireland next year, playing London’s Roundhouse on February 6-7, Manchester Albert Hall (8) and Dublin Olympia (10-11). The shows will take place as part of a wider European tour in support of their new album.

Interpol share new song ‘Ancient Ways’


The first line of the new Interpol song, ‘Ancient Ways’, simply says “ooooh, fuck the ancient ways!” so it’s pretty intense. Thundering drums and driving guitars power through the song, a pumped-up version of their trademark sound. Old school Interpol fans should love this one quite a bit (I know I do), and you can stream it for yourself.






Listen: Interpol’s new single “All the Rage Back Home”

Interpol at Governors Ball 2014(Photo : Ryan Book)

Interpol at Governors Ball 2014(Photo : Ryan Book)

Indie rock band Interpol is starting to paint the picture of its new album El Pintor, and it’s looking to be full of nothing but unbridled power. Today (July 9), the New Yorkers released the studio version of its new single “All The Rage Back Home.”

After debuting the track live several times, including an enthusiastic hometown set at Governors Ball, the studio version of “All The Rage Back Home” features a lively, upbeat side of Interpol, rarely heard since the band’s sophomore album Antics.

Though it begins with the signature glossy Interpol guitars and lead singer Paul Banks’ mournful, calming croon, “All The Rage Back Home” kicks up the enthusiasm at the 50-second mark, turning into a jaunty number featuring more power, driving bass and bopping energy than heard from the band in years.

Fans of the band will be relieved by the new single, which perfectly blends together its critically-acclaimed first two albums with a properly sick hook.

Listen to “All The Rage Back Home” below:

Interpol’s new album El Pintor will be released Sept. 9. It’s the first album recorded without original bassist Carlos D and the immediate follow-up the band’s 2010 self-titled effort.


Press for El Pintor has promised a “reinvigorated” Interpol, and there’s certainly evidence of that with “All the Rage Back Home”. In a way, the band returns to the days of Turn on the Bright Lights: not necessarily in the sonics, but in the enthusiasm they use to forge this kinetic post-rock ballad marked by jagged bass grooves, scintillating guitars, and Paul Banks’ anthemic croon. It’s a track that demonstrates a renewed hunger and a return to a sound that strikes hard and fast.


El Pintor is due out September 9th via Matador Records. Find the full tracklist ahead.

El Pintor Tracklist:
01. All the Rage Back Home
02. My Desire
03. Anywhere
04. Same Town, New Story
05. My Blue Supreme
06. Everything Is Wrong
07. Breaker 1
08. Ancient Ways
09. Tidal Wave
10. Twice as Hard