Everybody here is waiting for deep snow to ski –and I’m just waiting for Shangri La…

Jake Bugg - Shangri La

Jake Bugg – Shangri La

Shangri La is the upcoming second studio album by Jake Bugg, due to be released on 18 November 2013. The album was produced by Rick Rubin and named after his studio in Malibu, California, where recording took place in the summer of 2013.

The album was originally scheduled for release in the United States on 14 January 2014, by Island Records, with a five song EP released on 18 November 2013. However, following a “sold-out” tour in the United States, the release date was pushed up to 19 November 2013, a day following the UK release.

I first saw Jake Bugg live at a sold-out show at Bowery Ballroom in NYC. When I heard him sing, my jaw dropped– my heart was telling me a star was born. I saw him live again at The Living Room also in NYC. Although space was limited, I managed to get in. It was an awesome acoustic performance by a young artist (18 years of age!) and since then, Jake Bugg hasn’t stopped amazing me.

As we wait for the release of Shangri La in the U.S., we want to share with you some music videos from the album, including two singles. The first single “What Doesn’t Kill You” was announced and released from Shangri La on 23 September 2013. On 17 October 2013, “Slumville Sunrise” was revealed as the album’s second single, including a video promoting the song and album. Watch them below.

Jake Bugg – What Doesn’t Kill You [first single]

Jake Bugg – Slumville Sunrise [second single]

Jake Bugg – There’s A Beast And We All Feed It – at the BIC, Bournemouth on 19/10/2013

Studio album by Jake Bugg
Released 18 November 2013
Recorded 2013, Shangri La, Malibu, CA
Genre Indie rock
Label Mercury Records (UK)
Island Records (U.S.)
Producer Rick Rubin

Shangri La track listing

No. Title Length
1. “There’s a Beast and We All Feed It” 1:41
2. “Slumville Sunrise” 2:58
3. “What Doesn’t Kill You” 2:04
4. “Me and You” 2:58
5. “Messed Up Kids” 2:58
6. “A Song About Love” 3:59
7. “All Your Reasons” 5:08
8. “Kingpin” 2:27
9. “Kitchen Table” 4:55
10. “Pine Trees” 2:50
11. “Simple Pleasures” 5:02
12. “Storm Passes Away” 2:54


  • Jake Bugg – lead vocals, lead guitar, piano
  • Jason Lader – bass guitar
  • Matt Sweeney – rhythm guitar
  • Pete Thomas – drums

Review: Jake Bugg’s Self-Titled Debut Album

Watch the video for “Two Fingers”

Published on Sep 23, 2012
Debut album, out now on iTunes
Music video by Jake Bugg performing Two Fingers. (C) 2012 Mercury Records, a division of Universal Music Operations Limited

The 18-year-old singer-songwriter from Nottingham, England, learned basic guitar chords from his uncle at 12, started writing his own songs at 14 and got signed to Mercury at 16. He won high praise from Oasis’ Noel Gallagher, who recently took Bugg out as his opening act on a U.S. tour with Snow Patrol. “The audience seemed really responsive,” says Bugg, whose self-titled debut – which is already available in the States – debuted at Number One in the U.K.

Bugg takes his cues from old school musicians, and not just his fellow Brits; distinctly American songwriters like Dylan and Don McLean are among his influences, too. “Jimi Hendrix is probably my favorite guitarist,” Bugg says. “When I’m listening to him, it’s inspiring but also disheartening, because obviously, no one will ever be able to play like Jimi Hendrix,” he told the Rolling Stone.

While many talented teens try their hand at reality singing competitions for an easy go at fame, Bugg wasn’t feeling it, despite urging from his schoolmates that he’d excel on Britain’s Got Talent. “A lot of these people who go on these shows never have long careers,” Bugg says. “It’s more about their 15 minutes of fame.”

You’ve possibly heard one of Jake’s songs before in Lightning Bolt. The song is an acoustic heavy song with lyrical and vocal comparison’s that you’ll instantly make to a Bob Dylan if he could actually carry notes. You may disagree with me on that, but I’m just not a fan in the slightest. I’m aware of his affect on others, and even influence here, but I like Jake’s voice fare more.

The gauntlet of “Lightning Bolt”, “Two fingers”, “Taste it”, “Seen it all” and “Simple as This” is really the highlight of this album release. You could stop there and have reason enough alone to buy it. However after those songs the album goes a bit sideways. Only the redeeming Hank Williams driven song of “Troubled Town” or Ballad of Mr Jones brings it back to life. The latter song reminding you of what Ashcroft could have outputted had he decided to not go “woo woo woo”. That’s a hell of a comparison and compliment to make and I make it confidently.

Watch Jake Bugg play Two Fingers at Conan O’Brien show jan 17, 2013

The trouble I find with this album is its amount of songs, not as compelling 2nd side (songs 6-14), and length but it’s being enormously harsh almost needlessly. For his age Jake Bugg shows tremendous potential if he keeps his heads on his shoulders correctly. I imagine the influence upon him is enormous right now. Will he go down the tepid Starsailor route or will he move on with what makes him essential to music today and that’s a return to quality, lively, and catchy songwriting focusing on core elements. Were I to pass down advice it’s this.

1. Don’t get married – DONT HAVE KIDS YET
2. Don’t fall deeply in love and start writing open love notes to her in songs.
3. Break up with said partner before you go sideways and crank out a “Cold Roses” album like Ryan Adams.
4. Don’t get into drugs.

You’ll do well Jake Bugg – We LOVE what you’re doing. So stay the course, keep your eye on the goal, crank out the craft, and just add about 20-30 seconds more to each song. You’ll really kick some bottom.

Jake Bugg – Ballad of Mr Jones