Allah-Las – “501-415”

Allah-Las by Nolan Hall

Allah-Las – Photo Nolan Hall


Allah-Las is an American rock band from Los Angeles, California formed in 2008. The band consists of Matthew Correia (percussion), Spencer Dunham (bass), Miles Michaud (vocals, guitar), and Pedrum Siadatian (lead guitar). When the band got together, three of them – Correia, Dunham and Siadatian – were working at Amoeba Music.

They released their first 7-inch recording in 2011, Catamaran/Long Journey, produced by Nick Waterhouse for his Pres label. In 2012, they released a second single, Tell Me (What’s On Your Mind)/Sacred Sands, produced again by Nick Waterhouse but this time for their new label, Innovative Leisure. One reviewer commented that “their sound is steeped in the pop sensibilities of The Zombies and The Kinks, laced with Northern Soul, lo-fi funk and the ever-enduring influence of Arthur Lee and Love”. Allah-Las were featured in a Daytrotter session in May 2012 and their performance of Catamaran was named one of the top 200 Daytrotter songs of the year.

Since they met, working at Hollywood’s Ameoba Records in 2008, The Allah-Las have cultivated a sound not unlike an eyeful of L.A. sun, earthier than The Byrds and healthier than The Brian Jonestown Massacre. On their sophomore effort due this Fall, Worship The Sun, they further explore their characteristic blend of garage rock, electric folk and psychedelic pop. Best of all, they have a teaser track to share with readers. It’s somewhat enigmatically entitled 501-415…


The first single off the upcoming full length, Worship The Sun, “501-415″ is backed by the instrumental “No Werewolf.” Pre-order the big hole 45 (these will ship mid-July) and get a limited edition Allah-Las wooden spacer made of 100% Recycled Birchwood. Pre-order limited to 250 copies.

“You can’t lose and you can’t win, so give it all your best spin,” urges singer Miles Michaud, riding a tidy freakbeat through tingling arpeggios and brass-like fuzz blasts. There’s a sense of summer nearly over (so soon?), enhanced by the track’s bracing brevity, as it racks up a fat-free 1.43. Somewhere between the freedom of throwing caution to the wind and understanding the dire consequences of doing so, there’s 501-415.

On September 19, Allah-Las will release Worship The Sun on Innovative Leisure.

Photo: Nolan Hall

Watch Mac DeMarco Video for first single “A Little Bit of Pussy” – NUDE CONTENT!

Mac DeMarco

Mac DeMarco – Photo by Amy Price


Mac DeMarco announced he finished a new album, and leaks video for first single “A Little Bit of Pussy”. Unable to hold back his joy, DeMarco took a cue from so many modern artists and laughed in the face of his label, revealing the video for the record’s title track.

DeMarco debut 12-inch album, last year’s ‘Rock And Roll Night Club’ sported a picture of this 22-year-old Montrealer carefully applying a thick smooch of lipstick, and the contents – a collection of weird, woozy lo-fi songs sung in a playful glam-meets-’50s rock’n’roll vein – were recorded primitively, then slowed down a little, giving DeMarco the voice of an inebriated Elvis impersonator. It was sweet and amusing, its enjoyment increased slightly by the sense that DeMarco might have been sitting somewhere cackling that anyone in the world might take such a ridiculous art prank seriously.A year later, DeMarco returns with ‘2‘. This time we get a better glimpse of him. Suburban, slacker, bratty but charming bratty… Ferris Bueller with a guitar, basically. On the opening ‘Cooking Up Something Good’, we get a little glimpse of his home life: Mom slaving over a hot stove, brother out skateboarding, DeMarco in his bedroom way past midnight, chewing on nicotine gum. “Oh, life moves this slowly“, he choruses, lazily. “Just try and let it go…“.
While it may in fact be true that DeMarco has finished his  2 followup, some writers in the music industry doubt he called it A Little Bit of PussyHowever, as writer Ben Kaye stated, “it is clear that DeMarco is a man known for his irreverence” . On second thought, this NSFW video could be completely legit. Maybe. Probably not, but it’s completely worth the laugh either way.


Video: Passion Pit – ‘The Reeling’, First Single From the Band’s debut album ‘Manners’

“The Reeling” is a song by American electronic band Passion Pit. It was released in May 2009 as the first single from the band’s debut album Manners. The song features background vocals from the PS22 Chorus. Generally well received by music critics, the single entered the Billboard Alternative Songs chart in September 2009. In the UK, the single originally peaked at #137, but was re-issued in January 2010, where it performed slightly better at #99. With this improved showing, the record company then re-issued “Sleepyhead” in March 2010.


A music video for the song premiered in April 2009. It depicts a carefree night on the town and uses ripped-paper visual effects. A remixed version of “The Reeling” was used on the trailer for the fourth season of Skins.

Lou Thomas of the BBC praised the song’s vocals and beats, and called it “unquestionably one of the greatest songs of 2009.” Emily Kendrick of This Is Fake DIY noted the song’s exuberance and compared it vocally to the Bee Gees. Louise Brailey of NME said the song’s opening “sounds weirdly like an old-school hardcore breakdown, before collapsing into starry disco-pop.” Mike Diver of Clash magazine said the song “combine elements of the purest pop with compositional playfulness.” Matthew Cole of Slant Magazine credits the song’s ability, along with album track “Moth’s Wings,” to combine decades worth of “party music” genres, including disco, house, rave, and 1980s rock. Zach Kelly of Pitchfork Media described the song as sweet and earnest, adding that listeners “won’t remember it the next morning, but it probably earned a grin the night before.” Andrzej Lukowski of Drowned in Sound called the song “quite annoying,” though he gave the album a favorable review overall.