The Walkmen play final gig before ‘extreme hiatus’ – Video

Footage from The Walkmen’s last show before going on “extreme hiatus” has been revealed online.

The last song of the last presentation of The Walkmen, amazing and very emotional moment.

The band performed at an NBA All-Star gig in New Orleans on Saturday night (February 17). See above now to watch the band play ‘We’ve Been Had’ as well as frontman Hamilton Leithauser giving a speech eulogising the New York group. The Walkmen performed as part of Rock On Foundation’s first Alt-Star Party during the NBA All-Star break. The event was held by San Antonio Spurs’ player Matt Bonner.

Speaking to the audience, Leithauser suggested The Walkmen will not join the droves of bands who have split only to reform at a later date. “This is the end,” he said. “This is the last thing we’ll ever do. But this is great. This is the first song we ever wrote together.”

Meanwhile, Walter Martin of the band posted a picture of the group after the gig with the caption: “There will always be an ‘us’ in hiatus”

Bass player Peter Bauer revealed late last year that the band have no plans to write or record together in the future and that they had played their last live date in promotion of 2012 album ‘Heaven’.

The Walkmen formed in 2000 and have released seven studio albums, including last year’s ‘Heaven’. Emerging alongside The Strokes, Interpol and Yeah Yeahs as a raft of bands broke out of New York at the turn of the century, The Walkmen are perhaps best known for their song ‘The Rat’, which appeared on 2004 album ‘Bows + Arrows’.

We’ll miss you guys!

God Is An Astronaut: Discography

Astronaut @ Sistine Chapel

Astronaut @ Sistine Chapel

Note: On December 28, 2012, God Is An Astronaut announced (in their official website) that they will be taking a short break to complete the new album, and will have some updates on its progress, release date and news on upcoming touring for mid 2013 in the coming weeks and months.


1. Worlds in Collision
2. In the Distance Fading
3. Lost Kingdom
4. Golden Sky
5. Dark Rift
6. Parallel Highway
7. Shining Through
8. Age of the Fifth Sun
9. Paradise Remains





1. Shadows
2. Post Mortem
3. Echoes
4. Snowfall
5. First Day of Sun
6. No Return
7. Zodiac
8. Remaining Light
9. Shores of Orion
10. Loss




1. Radau
2. Far from Refuge
3. Sunrise in Aries
4. Grace Descending
5. New Years End
6. Darkfall
7. Tempus Horizon
8. Lateral Noise
9. Beyond the Dying Light





1. The End of the Beginning
2. From Dust to the Beyond
3. Ascend to Oblivion
4. Coda
5. Remembrance
6. Point Pleasant
7. Fall from the Stars
8. Twilight
9. Coma
10. Route 666
11. Lost Symphony




1. Frozen Twilight
2. A Moment of Stillness
3. Forever Lost (Reprise)
4. Elysian Fields
5. Crystal Canyon
6. Endless Dream
7. Empyrean Glow
8. Sweet Deliverance
9. Dark Solstice

Dave Grohl Confirms Foo Fighters Hiatus

David Grohl of Foo Fighters

Dave Grohl says his band Foo Fighters is officially taking a break.

Grohl posted an open letter to the group’s Facebook account Tuesday, calling the band “my life,” but noting “it’s a good thing for all of us to go away for a while.”

Grohl told fans Saturday at the Global Citizen Festival he didn’t know when the band would play together again, and affirmed that in the letter.

“Without making a big deal out of it, we don’t have any shows after this. This is it, man,” Grohl said at the concert in NYC’s Central Park. “Honestly, I don’t know when we’re gonna do it again… and this is the perfect place to do it.”

He went more in-depth in the letter, writing, “Never in my wildest dreams did I think Foo Fighters would make it this far… There were times when I wanted to give up. But I can’t give up this band. And I never will. Because it’s not just a band to me. It’s my life. It’s my family. It’s my world.”

Grohl says he’s “not sure” when the Foo Fighters will play again, and is now focused on his forthcoming Sound City documentary and album. “A year in the making, it could be the biggest, most important project I’ve ever worked on,” he said of the project. “Get ready… It’s coming.”

He created Foo Fighters in 1994 after his time as the drummer in Nirvana, recording the band’s self-titled debut before inviting other members to join. The band has been one of rock ‘n’ roll’s most enduring critical and commercial successes, winning 11 Grammys, including five earlier this year.

© 2012 The Associated Press.

Monstrauss played last show before going on hiatus

San Jose (CA) band Monstrauss has been an odd addition to the South Bay scene since its inception in late 2009. They mix elements of what they call grunge, ska, funk-metal and prog-rock. While it might be confusing for some listeners to hear a song jump between ska and grunge, all that’s needed to fully understand Monstrauss, is that these guys love the music of the 90s—all of it. That includes Stone Temple Pilots, Primus, the Mighty Mighty Bosstones and many of the other alternative rock bands that decade gave us.

What is fascinating about Monstrauss is how they authentically treat each and every musically element in their songs. They play grunge like kids who grew up listening to nothing but. The same goes for ska, prog-rock and funk-metal.

Unfortunately, this was the last chance to catch Monstrauss for a while. Guitarist Noaa Rienecker is moving to the East Coast to attend the Berkeley School of Music for at least a year, maybe longer. In the meantime, you can still catch other core member, Jason Hallyburton, in any of his several other bands: 8:19, No One is Joking, and Hereticus.

Monstrauss performed at the Art Boutiki on Saturday, August 4th.

Good luck to all!