Former Lostprophets members start new band together


Photo: Getty / NME

Former members of Lostprophets have started a new band together following the conviction of frontman Ian Watkins on child sex charges.

The remaining members of the band – Lee Gaze, Mike Lewis, Stuart Richardson, Jamie Oliver and Luke Johnson – are working on a new project with former Thursday frontman Jeff Rickly (pictured above).

Speaking to Rickley said that Watkins’ former bandmates “deserve a second chance” and compared the new music they have made to The Cure and New Order.

Speaking about how Watkins’ arrest and subsequent imprisonment affected his bandmates, Rickly continued: “I think if ever there was a group of people that needed a second chance, it’s those guys – and they’re going to take full advantage of it. People don’t really think of what happens to the other members. That took away their life. What happened is just devastating for them.”

Though not clear if Rickly will join the band in a musical capacity, he is working with them through his label, Collect Records. “It’s been my honour to work with them on their new band from a label perspective,” said Rickly. “People are not going to know what hit them when the new band comes out. It’s like everything I grew up on: a little bit of New Order, a little bit of Joy Division, little bit of The Cure. It’s just so forward-thinking.”

It was recently reported that Ian Watkins has applied for permission to appeal against the length of his jail term for child sex offences, which include the attempted rape of a baby.

The singer was given a 29-year jail sentence at the end of last year (December 18) and will spend a further six years on license after pleading guilty to 13 sexual offences.

This guy is totally sick!