Stream The GOASTT’s Midnight Sun Album

GOASTT

GOASTT

 

Hailed by Mojo magazine (on sale tomorrow) as “12 out of body transmissions that channel Bends-era Radiohead, Syd Barrett whimsy and woozy melodic weirdness”, the third album by Sean Lennon-helmed The Ghost Of A Saber Tooth Tiger (The GOASTT) is streamable in full.

 

Out this week, Midnight Sun is the brainchild of GOASTT-talkers Lennon and musician Charlotte Kemp Muhl. Melded in 2008, the two released the self-explanatory Acoustic Sessions album in 2010. The woozy yé-yé pop for freaks of La Carotte Bleue followed in 2011. But Midnight Sun is already proving the group’s richest and most immersive recording, and anyone interested in what MOJO staffer Ross Bennett describes as “Aphrodite’s Child grooves” or “interstellar guitar adventures” should listen up.

The Ghost Of A Saber Tooth Tiger are on tour in the US through May and June. See dates and venues below.

 

DATES – VENUES

Friday 5/2/14 – Vintage Vinyl, Fords, NJ

Saturday 5/3/14 – Rough Trade, Brooklyn, NY

Monday 5/5/14 – U Hall, Washington, DC (w/ Jeffrey Lewis)

Wednesday 5/7/14 – Terminal West, Atlanta, GA (w/ BRONCHO)

Thursday 5/8/14 – One Eyed Jacks, New Orleans, LA (w/ M. Ward)

Friday 5/9/14 – Club Dada, Dallas, TX (w/ BRONCHO)

Saturday 5/10/14 – ACM @ UCA Lab, Oklahoma City, OK (w/ BRONCHO)

Monday 5/12/14 – Red 7, Austin, TX (w/ BRONCHO)

Wednesday 5/14/14 – Club Congress, Tuscon, AZ (w/ Fever The Ghost)

Thursday 5/15/14 – Crescent Ballroom, Phoenix, AZ (w/ Fever The Ghost)

Friday 5/16/14 – Casbah, San Diego, CA (w/ Fever The Ghost)

Saturday 5/17/14 – El Rey, Los Angeles, CA (w/ Fever The Ghost)

Tuesday 5/20/14 – GAMH, San Francisco, CA (w/ Syd Arthur)

Thursday 5/22/14 – The Crocodile, Seattle, WA (w/ Syd Arthur)

Friday 5/23/14 – The Imperial, Vancouver, BC (w/ Syd Arthur)

Saturday 5/24/14 – Mississippi Studios, Portland, OR (w/ Syd Arthur)

Tuesday 5/27/14 – Bluebird, Denver, CO (w/ Syd Arthur)

Wednesday 5/28/14 – Waiting Room, Omaha, NE (w/ Syd Arthur)

Thursday 5/29/14 – Wooly’s, Des Moines, IA (w/ Syd Arthur)

Friday 5/30/14 – 7th Street Entry, Minneapolis, MN (w/ Syd Arthur)

Saturday 5/31/14 – High Noon Saloon, Madison, WI (w/ Syd Arthur)

Sunday 6/1/14 – Lincoln Hall, Chicago, IL (w/ Syd Arthur)

Tuesday 6/3/14 – The Hoxton, Toronto, ON (w/ Syd Arthur)

Wednesday 6/4/14 – La Sala Rossa, Montreal, QC (w/ Syd Arthur)

Thursday 6/5/14 – Bowery Ballroom, New York, NY (w/ Syd Arthur)

Friday 6/6/14 – Johnny Brenda’s, Philadelphia, PA (w/ Syd Arthur)

Saturday 6/7/14 – Brighton Music Hall, Boston, MA (w/ Syd Arthur)

Sunday 6/8/14 – Mountain Jam Festival, Hunter, NY