Paul Weller Blasts Record Store Day Racketeers

Paul Weller

Paul Weller


The Modfather says it’s his last RSD, shames touts. Plus, the video for Brand New Toy.

TAKEN FROM IMPENDING NEW solo hits collection More Modern Classics and released as a 500-copy 7″ for last Saturday’s Record Store Day, Brand New Toy sees Paul Weller entering the music hall-adjacent neighbourhood of Cockney Rebel and Supertramp before veering into more bluffly soulful areas. The video’s striking as well, taking place within a perspective-deluding giant kaleidoscope.

But there’s resentment simmering around the RSD release, with fans unable to buy one from their local vinyl outlet finding numerous copies at inflated prices on auction sites. Writing on his website, Weller has commiserated with those disappointed and expressed his distaste for the speculators, explaining, “Apart from making the record, the rest has very little to do with me but I am disheartened by the whole thing and unfortunately I won’t be taking part in Record Store Day again… the greedy touts making a fast buck off genuine fans is disgusting and goes against the whole philosophy of RSD.” His wife Hannah Weller has joined the fray, and has been pursuing those seeking to flog the limited edition vinyls on auction sites on her Twitter feed.

The Record Store Day organisers have responded, sympathising with Weller’s stance and adding, “We clearly cannot control the activities of members of the public, but the Record Store Day Code Of Conduct makes it clear that any store found to be complicit in unauthorised sales on eBay faces being banned from future events.”

Until then, how about a repress of the RSD single to satisfy demand?


Tame Impala to release live EP for Record Store Day, stream version of “Be Above It”

Image (3) Tame-Impala-Larson-5-1024x682.jpg for post 300784

Photo by Jeremy Larson

Tame Impala are set to release a Live EP on Record Store Day (April 19th) via Modular. Simply titled Live Versions, the eight-track effort features records from their 2013 concert in Chicago

According to a press release (via Pitchfork), Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker selected the songs “based on how different the live versions are from the album versions. His goal was to give fans something they won’t already have; something they’ve only previously experienced at a Tame Impala show.”

As a preview, the band has shared an extended, jam-heavy live version of Lonerism opener “Be Above It”. Clocking in at a whopping seven and a half minutes, the song expands and tweaks the original’s arrangement by adding in spacey blasts of synth and swirling psychedelic flourishes towards the end. Listen in below and check out the tracklist.

Live Versions Tracklist:
01. Endors Toi
02. Why Won’t You Make Up Your Mind
03. Sestri Levante
04. Mind Mischief
05. Desire Be Desire Go
06. Half Full Glass
07. Be Above It
08. Feels Like We Only Go Backwards